• Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Turkworkz

Shooter
    I need some expert advice. I found this military box of .30 caliber ammo while cleaning out my mother's storage house. It was my father's. He passed in Feb. 1993. I'm sure the ammo is over 30 years old. He owned Remington a 30-06 ADL. Would this be ammo for his gun? If not, what gun will shoot this ammo? Also, I wonder what the value would be today? Any experts out there who might know?

Attachments

• 30 Cal Ammo Box 1.jpg
      30 Cal Ammo Box 1.jpg
      60.9 KB · Views: 135
    • 30 Cal Ammo Box 2.jpg
      30 Cal Ammo Box 2.jpg
      57.2 KB · Views: 148
    • 30 Cal Ammo Box 3.jpg
      30 Cal Ammo Box 3.jpg
      28 KB · Views: 147

P4RET

Expert
    I am not an expert, but it looks like there is 264 rounds of 3006 ammo. Would have to measure a round to be sure. And it may be corrosive.

Norm

Expert
    I wouldn’t claim to be an expert, but it appears that what you have there is indeed 30-06 Ammo.
    Assuming that the description on the Ammo can is correct, and it appears that it is except the ammo is not in clips, I’d say you have a loose can of M2 ball Ammo. M2 ball is/was 30-06 consisting of a 150 grain full metal jacketed bullet loaded to a velocity of approx 2750 feet per second. The head stamp looks like 1954 vintage. It would indeed fire in your father’s ADL, but would not be acceptable as a hunting round. If Mom’s storage house is not climate controlled, the ammo has likely been subjected to many many periods of pretty high temperatures. Over time, heat will degrade Ammo. I wouldn’t attempt to put a value on it, but it wouldn’t be much in my opinion. Maybe someone else will weigh in and have more insight for you.
    Hope this helps.

Daezee

Master